Julia Santos Solomon

Art and Life of Julia

Making Art Accessible

Internal Island

I learned a valuable lesson during one of my most memorable exhibitions: “Magia Verde” a solo exhibition at the Main Gallery at Altos de Chavon in La Romana, Dominican Republic”. I had returned to the Dominican Republic after a 15 year absence, and was rediscovering my roots. I decided to begin with the basics…what did the place look like? I went outdoors and took a good look, amazing color, lush, verdant vegetation, clear intense skies. I had been a figurative painter up to that point, but suddenly I was painting tropical landscapes. The investigation worked, I became more familiar with my birthplace.

Altos de Chavon is a beautiful place with cobblestone streets, lovely gardens and dramatic cliffs that drop into the Chavon River. Six miles down the road is Casa de Campo an elite resort with elegant villas. The place was maintained by many laborers, gardeners, repair personnel, waiters and waitresses in the restaurants, taxi drivers, and general merchants. Every day I greeted them and had a little chat about something simple, sometimes we’d share a joke or two. My community extended past the artists, students, and administration, it included them as well.

When it came time to install the exhibition, I engaged the gardeners and asked them for advice, and they brought in the most exquisite plants to complement my work, that created a magical environment. I extended an invitation to them to attend the show because they were part of it in my mind. I also invited the taxi drivers, the waiters and the security guards. I cannot find the words to express the warmth exchanged between us. They were so excited to have been asked to attend. Including them broke a mold, the show was not only for the elite, but for the common person as well. They came with their families dressed in their best clothes. They were so proud to introduce their families to me, and I to meet them.

The main painting in the show a dyptich called “Wind and Tenderness” sold to one of my students, villa owners and tourists  bought work, but the lesson here was that the gardeners, waiters and taxi drivers also bought work. The show sold out. That experience made me realize I wanted to make sure that my art was accessible to people of all income brackets.

If someone loves my work, I want to find a way to make it accessible to them. At this time I am exploring ways to make that happen. At the end of the day my goal is to sell the work to those who really want it. My prayer is that my art brings them joy.

No comments yet»

Leave a comment